American Legion Auxiliary Department of South Dakota Annual Convention of 105<sup>th</sup> Year 104th Convention Huron, SD June 20, 2025 Friday Dakota ABEF 7:30 AM Registration Desk Opens

7:30 AM Registration Desk Opens
8:30 AM Finance Meeting -Dakota ABEF
11:30 – 12:30 PM Lunch Break
12:30-4:25 PM DEC Meeting -Dakota ABEF
4:30 Joint Memorial Service- Dakota CDGH
6:00 Joint Banguet-Prairie ABC

# June 21, 2025 Saturday

Dakota A B E F

7:30 AM Registration Desk Opens

7:40 AM Line up Officer and PDPs

## 7:55 AM ADVANCEMENT OF COLORS

Sergeant-at-Arms Hope Smith, Chester Unit #136 Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms Robin Hempel, Chester Unit #136 Officers and PDPs

8:00 AM Call to Order by Huron Unit #7

Dakota A B E F

#### **OFFICIAL OPENING**

Department President AnnaMae Warnier, Alcester Unit #86

#### INVOCATION

Sharon Broghammer, Mitchell Unit #18

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

First Vice President Susie Learing, Irene Unit #193

#### PREAMBLE

Second Vice President Patrice Sorensen, Piedmont Unit #311

#### National Anthem – All Sing

ROLL CALL OF UNITS-Department Secretary Pro Tem Regina Whipple, Martin Unit #240

#### **WELCOME TO DISTRICT 6**

District 6 Linda Holmes, Mitchell Unit #18

#### RESPONSE

District 7 President Joyce Smith, Chester Unit #136 READING OF CALL TO CONVENTION

Department Secretary Pro Tem Regina Whipple,

Martin Unit #240

## **CONVENTION RULES**

Debra MacDonald, District 2-Hermosa Unit #303

#### **CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS-First Reading**

Patrice Sorensen, Second Vice and Chairman and Committee

# 10:00 am JUNIOR MEETING Salon | Room PERSONAL PAGES

Jill Lamers, Montrose Unit #154 Micheline Nelson, Spearfish Unit #164 Christina Warnier, Alcester Unit #86

### **REGISTRATION AND CREDENTIALS**

-(verified delegates) **Department Secretary Pro Tem Regina Whipple,** Martin Unit #240

## **REPORTS OF DEPARTMENT OFFICERS**

NEC Mary Jo Stier, Onida Unit #79 President AnnaMae Warnier, Alcester Unit #86 First Vice President Susie Learing, Irene Unit #193 Second Vice President Patrice Sorensen, Piedmont Unit #311

Secretary Pro Tem Regina Whipple, Martin Unit #240 Treasurer Pro Tem Christine Patnoe, Alexandria #41 Finance Chairman Kathleen Aulner, Alexandria Unit #41 Historian Regina Whipple, Martin Unit #240 Parliamentarian Kim Anderson, Piedmont Unit #311 Chaplain Sharon Broghammer, Mitchell Unit #18

Department Memorial Service

**NOMINATION** and Voting

OF DEPARTMENT OFFICERS and NW VP 12:00-1:00 Lunch Break <u>1:00 CONVENTION RECONVENES</u> GREETINGS FROM AMERICAN LEGION DEPARTMENT COMMANDER

Kevin Morello, Piedmont Post #311

## **GREETINGS FROM DISTRICT PRESIDENTS**

District 1 Patrice Sorensen, Piedmont Unit #311 District 2 Debra MacDonald, Hermosa Unit #303 District 3 Marla Mosiman, Onida Unit #79 District 4 Deanne Hoyle, Roscoe Unit #259 District 5 Mary Jo Boner, Castlewood Unit #250 District 6 Linda Holmes, Mitchell Unit #18 District 7 Joyce Smith, Chester Unit #136 District 8 Karen Richelieu, Irene Unit #193

#### **REPORTS FROM HOSPITAL**

# REPRESENTATIVES AND CHAIRMEN FORT MEADE VA

Patrice Sorensen, Hospital Rep Lin Popp, Deputy Rep Joanann Goeringer, Gift Shop Chairman

#### Piedmont Unit #311 Christmas Party HOT SPRINGS VA

Shanna Clyde, Hospital Rep Susie Clyde, Deputy Rep Shanna Clyde, Gift Shop Chairman Angie Koch, Christmas Party Chairman

## STATE VETERANS HOME-HOT SPRINGS

Karen Phelan, Hospital Rep Jane Benzel, Deputy Rep Carrie Alm, Gift Shop Chairman Unit #71 Hot Springs, Christmas Party

# SIOUX FALLS VA

Gloria Bonjour, Hospital Rep Noelle Bonjour, Deputy Rep Julie Weinmann, Gift Shop Chairman Unit #15 Sioux Falls, Christmas Party

## HUMAN SERVICE CENTER

Susie Learing, Hospital Rep Susie Learing and Irene Unit #193, Gift Shop and Christmas Party

# DEPARTMENT CHAIRMEN REPORTS

AEF-Linda Holmes, Mitchell #18 AMERICANISM-Keli Stelley, Irene #193 Children and Youth-Theresa Maeschen, Ethan #261 Community Service-Sherry Woltjer, #500 Education-Jan Seibel, Groton #39 ALA SD Girls State- Tiffany French, Cresbard #213 Junior Activities-Heather Kruger, DeSmet #138 Legionette-Jill Lamer, Montrose #154 Membership-Rose Kraft, Britton #80 National Security-Patsy Madsen, Gregory #6 Past Presidents Parley-Joyce Smith, Chester #136 Poppy-Jane Benzel, Hot Springs #71 Public Relations-Jill Lamer, Montrose #154 Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation-Laura Clyde, Piedmont #311

# PRAYER

Department Chaplain Sharon Broghammer, Mitchell Unit #18

# 4:40 PM RECESS

4:45 AM District Presidents and Chairman (Incoming and Outgoing) Orientation and material exchange <u>MANDATORY</u>

Dakota ABEF 7:00 PM AUXILIARY BANQUET - Dakota D

# June 22, 2025 Sunday Dakota ABEF 8:00 Reconvene Convention HAND SALUTE

## INVOCATION

**Department Chaplain Sharon Broghammer**, Mitchell Unit #18

## **ROLL CALL OF UNITS-** Department Secretary

Pro Tem Regina Whipple, Martin Unit #240

# REGISTRATION AND CREDENTIALS (FINAL READING)

Department Secretary Pro Tem Regina Whipple, Martin Unit #240

#### CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS (FINAL READING AND VOTING)

Chairman Patrice Sorensen and Committee, Piedmont Unit #311

## **NOMINATION of Delegates and Alternates**

to National Convention

# INSTALLATION OF DEPARTMENT OFFICERS, DISTRICT PRESIDENTS ACCEPTANCE SPEECH-NEW PRESIDENT FAREWELL SPEECH-OUTGOING PRESIDENT ANNOUNCEMENTS CLOSING REMARKS CLOSING Prayer- New Chaplain Retiring the Colors

Immediately after there will be a

**Finance Meeting** 

**DEC Meeting**